Sunday, March 25

4 Days until SWC Offices Close Forever....

12 out of 16 regional offices are being closed in the following communities: Vancouver , Saskatoon , Winnipeg , Thunder Bay , Toronto , Hamilton , London , Ottawa , Ste-Foy, Halifax , Charlottetown , St. John's.

Status of Women Canada's regional presence will be limited to four “points of service”: Edmonton , Ottawa (at Headquarters), Montréal and Moncton.

Furthermore, under new policy, women’s groups who do lobby or advocacy activity, like the Parliament gathering, will be ineligible for funding.

The ban translates into not being able to speak on public panels, at rallies, and to parliament. Organizations who compile original research will also become ineligible.

LINK: McClung's Winter 2007

No comments: